News & Announcements Archive

Barbara Landau Named a Gilman Scholar

Dr. Barbara Landau was recently named a Gilman Scholar, a distinction that honors and celebrates select Johns Hopkins faculty who embody the highest standards of scholarship and research across the university.

Michael Bonner Joins the Department!

Photo of Dr. Michael Bonner
We welcome Dr. Michel Bonner as our newest assistant professor. Until recently, he was a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Psychology at UPenn. Mick will start January 1st.  Welcome to the team, Mick!

Jane Lutken Receives NSF Research Grant

PhD student Jane Lutken received an NSF Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement Award to pursue her research project on "Cross-Linguistic Investigations of Syntactic Creativity Errors in Children’s Wh-questions" in Germany next year. Brava, Jane!

Our New MA and PhD Cohorts Starting Fall 2018

Join us in welcoming six new graduate students joining our department this fall. They come from a variety of backgrounds and from all corners of the globe. We can't wait to start working with them! Click the above link for their profiles.

Undergraduate Rebecca Lin Co-Authored an Article

Lin, Rebbecca
Rebecca Lin is the lead author on an article entitled "Visualized Emotion Ontology: a model for representing visual cues of emotions," which was recently published in BMC Medical Informatics and Decision Making! Rebecca is a cognitive science major entering her junior year. 

New Faculty Recruiting Grad Students for Fall 2019

Drs. Michael Bonner and Leyla Isik will join our department on January 1 and July 1, 2019, respectively. They are recruiting PhD students to begin working in their labs in Fall 2019. Applications will be accepted  Sept. 2018 through Dec 15, 2018. Click on the link above for details.

Congratulations and Farewell

Assistant research scientist Dr. Jeremy Purcell accepted a position as a Faculty Specialist at the UMd Neuroimaging Center, starting in August. Congrats, Jeremy!

New Department Chair

Geraldine Legendre
Join us in welcoming Prof. Géraldine Legendre in her new role as Chair of the Department of Cognitive Science!

Arunima Vijay Receives Excellence in Cognitive Science Award

Photo of Arunima Vijay
Each spring, our faculty members choose a graduating cognitive science major with the strongest combination of academic excellence and outstanding accomplishments in research. This year, Arunima Vijay receives the honor.